Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle
All HPISD campuses and offices will be closed Tuesday, Jan. 31 and Wednesday, Feb. 1 due to freezing rain and hazardous driving conditions. The district will continue to monitor weather conditions and will provide updates regarding Thursday classes.

Election Information

May 2023 Election Information
The next general election is Saturday, May 6, 2023. Trustee Place 6 and Place 7 will be on the ballot. The first day for a candidate to file is Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2023 and the last day to file is Friday, Feb. 17. Visit the Texas Secretary of State website for more information.
Documents related to the May 2023 election are below:
May 2023 Candidate Applications
Listed alpha order by Place
Previous Recent Election Results
The swearing-in for Place 4 has been postponed pending the outcome of a petition for a recount. Candidate Tyler Beeson filed a petition May 17 for a recount of the results for the HPISD Board of Trustees Place 4 position. The recount process will take place Thursday, May 26, 2022 and will be conducted in accordance with the State of Texas election law procedures to request and conduct a recount. Only persons specifically permitted to attend by law may be in the room where the recount is taking place as outlined on page 9 of the Texas Procedures to Request and Conduct a Recount process, which is posted below.
Dallas County Elections office recount process of the HPISD Place 4 Trustee election that began May 26 in response to a petition filed by candidate Tyler Beeson has been completed. Once the review of mail-in ballots was completed, Beeson requested that the recount committee cease the process. Unofficial election results published by Dallas County Elections office earlier this month remain unchanged.
HPISD Place 4 incumbent Jae Elis will take the oath of office at the June 14 meeting.
Highland Park ISD voters elected Jae Ellis, Ellen Lee and Bryce Benson to serve on the Board of Trustees in yesterday's election. All three will serve three-year terms until May 2025.
Place 4 Trustee Ellis will be serving his second term. Place 5 Trustee-elect Lee will replace former Board Finance Officer Edward Herring who is stepping down from Board service after two three-year terms. Place 3 Trustee Benson ran unopposed after serving on the board during the last year. Unofficial election results below (including the total number of votes cast during early voting, by mail and in person) can be seen here.
Place 3
  • Bryce Benson - 6,314 votes
Place 4 (pending recount process)
  • Jae Ellis - 4,184 votes (50.87%)
  • Tyler Beeson - 4,041 votes (49.13%)
Place 5
  • Ellen Lee - 4,825 votes (58.82%)
  • Spencer Siino - 3,378 votes (41.18%)
Trustees for Place 3 and Place 5 were sworn into office during the Tuesday, May 17, 2022 School Board meeting. Swearing-in for Place 4 has been postponed due to a recount request filed May 17. Thank you to each candidate who ran to serve as a trustee and to all HPISD voters who participated in the process.