Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

The College Board announces National Recognition Program honorees

14 HPHS seniors named National Merit Semifinalists

Highland Park High School is proud to announce that 14 seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. The students entered the program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors, and only about 16,000 students from across the country qualified as semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Semifinalists will continue in the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s competition for 7,500 scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered in the spring.
Highland Park High School 2022 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists are:
Juliet Allan
Christopher Carmack
Daniel Carrillo
Kathryn Hamilton
Carlyn Johnson
Justin Li
Matthew Mattei
Grace Peng
Reva Rao
Kieley Stallings
Ava Tiffany
Evan Wang
Jerry Wang
Sarah Wirskye
Nationally, more than 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalists level, and it is from this group that National Merit Scholarship winners will be chosen. Merit Scholar designees are selected based on their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received.
Three types of Merit Scholarship awards will be offered in the spring of 2022. Every finalist will compete for one of the $2,500 National Merit scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis.
Approximately 220 corporations and business organizations will underwrite 1,000 scholarships for finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor's employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located. Also, about 180 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,000 Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsoring institutions.

College Board Announce additional scholars

The College Board Recognition Program also announced national scholars who took the PSAT/NMSQT and designated themselves as Hispanic/Latino, African American or Indigenous and scored in the top 10% in their state. Fourteen HPHS students have been named National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars, two were named National African American Recognition Program Scholars and one was named a National Indigenous Recognition Program Scholar.
The 2022 National Hispanic Scholars are: 
  • Isabella Acosta
  • Campbell Borchers
  • Daniel Carrillo
  • Rebeca De La Garza Evia Linan
  • Olivia Fox
  • Ana Gonzalez
  • Andres Gonzalez
  • Hannah Jud
  • Audrey Kelley
  • Rosemary Rimmer
  • Lucas Rocha Jaje
  • Isabella Rosas
  • Alexander Taylor
  • Matthew Taylor
National African American Recognition Program Scholars are:
  • Alexandra Jack
  • Jeneta Nwosu
National Indigenous Recognition Program Scholar is:
  • Claire Binns
“Congratulations to the Highland Park High School 2022 National Merit Semifinalists and the College Board Recognition Program Scholars!" HPHS Principal Jeremy Gilbert said.
“We are so proud of this group of students who exemplify the school motto, 'Enter to learn. Go forth to serve.' each and every day. Throughout their high school experience, these students have demonstrated a strong commitment and focus on rigorous academic studies while serving their school community in many different ways as leaders, teammates and fellow Scots. We celebrate their success and commend the parents, teachers, advisors, counselors and administrators who have supported each of them through this journey."